"Nail polish on Barbie keeps her modest and not laying around naked....kind of a great idea"
Look, here's the deal. I'm all for modesty. I think if people want to cover up, then more power to them.
In our community, a great number of people are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. LDS members are required to wear "garments." These are sacred underthings that are important to my LDS friends. I have been guilty of cracking the occasional "G Joke." I've referred to them as "Mormon Jammies," But the truth of the matter is, they are special to my friends and I respect their commitment to all aspects of their religion. So a culture of "modesty" exists because Mormon women wear clothes that will reach the knee and cover the shoulder to cover their garments.
I always say "I grew up in a naked family." Some people are just more comfortable with nudity. I, personally, am very comfortable with it. (Please, ask my husband about his introduction into my "naked family." Poor thing.)
But when I came across this today, I just felt so...sad.
Painting shorts and a tank top on Barbie so she won't be "naked" is so utterly ridiculous I can barely stand it.
She's not naked she's plastic!
For crying out loud. is her vagina (OMG, did I say vagina? YES!) Is her vagina less exposed because it's painted red? Are her breasts less exposed because they're painted white?
She's just as "naked" as she was 15 seconds ago...she's just a different color.
And, what in the heck was wrong with her "nakedness" in the first place? She doesn't have a vagina. She doesn't have nipples. She's plastic!
There is a long list of reasons I'm not a Barbie fan.
1. She's unrealistic
2. I like baby dolls - not Barbie dolls
3. Her hair is hard to comb
4. Her stupid shoes never go on correctly, and they fall off in 2 seconds and you just lose them. It's a pain in the butt.
Her nudity doesn't even make the top 10!
Painting her lower half red (please...we could discuss that choice for hours) and her top half white, is so utterly insane, I can feel my blood pressure going up just thinking about it.
All you have done is make part of your body, and your child's body, dirty, and ugly, and something to be hidden. You've actually made it more difficult for you to discuss your child's body, the facts of life, and "why do you have hair down there" with your child. You've just demonized one third of you!
If you grow up in a modest family...unlike the naked family I was raised in...then I understand your desire to keep things covered up. And if you want to cover Barbie up, I'm pretty sure she comes with pink sweatpants and a hoodie. As for me...I don't think there are any Barbie's in my house - but if there are - I'm going to go home and strip them down right now. The next time you come over, there will be Naked Barbie's all over the place. I hope you're not too turned on by that.





